RCCF Awards Lilly Scholarship To Gage Unrath

Sunday, December 15, 2019 at 12:56 PM

By Ripley County Community Foundation, news release

Although he does not know which college he will attend, he hopes to attend Purdue University and pursue a degree in Mathematics.

Gage Unrath with his parents, Vince and Jennifer. Photo provided. 

(Ripley County, Ind.) - The Ripley County Community Foundation proudly announces Gage Unrath as Ripley County’s 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Gage will receive full tuition for 4 years of undergraduate study and a $900 per year book stipend to the Indiana College or University of his choice.

Gage is the son of Vince and Jennifer Unrath, and is a senior at Jac-Cen-Del High School. Although he does not know which college he will attend, he hopes to attend Purdue University and pursue a degree in Mathematics. Along with being a top student at his high school, Gage participates in Rube Goldberg, is a member of the Robotics Team, is Captain of the Math Academic Team, is a member of the History Academic Team, is a member of National Honor Society, and is a peer tutor in an array of subjects.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is one of the most competitive and prestigious scholarships offered by the Ripley County Community Foundation. Candidates are evaluated on grades, extra-curricular activities, test scores, community involvement, and the quality of multiple essays. The selection committee is composed of Ripley County residents representing all areas of the county. During the evaluation process, the committee is not given names of the applicants nor the schools they attend. During the final interviews, the student is introduced by their first name only. This provides for as much objectivity as possible. Once the Ripley County Community Foundation scholarship committee had chosen and interviewed the finalists, the candidate’s applications were sent to the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the final selection of the recipient.

The other top finalists from Ripley County will receive a Ripley County Community Scholarship in the sum of $2,000 in their freshman year and a Grateful Families Scholarship and a Jane Deiwert Scholarship in their Sophomore year. The four finalists are: Abigail Blomer, Alexandra Dudley, Joseph Hartman, and Sophie Wesseler.

Abigail Blomer is the daughter of Michael and Michelle Blomer, and is a senior at Batesville High School. Abigail is a Group Therapy Leader, a member of Track and Field, an actress in Drama Club, a performer in Show-Choir, a violinist, a peer tutor, and a member of Safe Passage Youth Group, Key Club and AV Club.

Alexandra Dudley is the daughter of Jay and Julie Dudley, and is a senior at East Central High School. Alexandra is a Camp Counselor for 4H, the Section Leader for the Marching Band, and is a member of National Honor Society and 4H Junior Leaders.

Joseph Hartman is the son of Charles and Andrea Hartman, and is a senior at Batesville High School. Joseph is the Co-Captain of the Science Academic Team, a Tech and Set Crew Member of the Drama Club, an Assistant Senior Patrol Leader, Chaplain’s Aide and Quartermaster in Boy Scouts of America, and a Devotion Leader and Work Director of his mission team.

Sophie Wesseler is the daughter of Neil and Carrie Wesseler, and is a senior at Oldenburg Academy. Sophie is a Teacher’s Aide in Ballet and Modern Dance, participates in the St. Louis Catholic Church Mission Team, Youth Group, Drama Club, National Honor Society, Choir, Art Club, and is the President of the Dance Club.

“This is the 23rd cohort for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program (LECSP). 4,769 full-tuition scholars have been awarded, and over $405M in scholarship tuition has been provided through the LECSP since the program’s inception in 1998. The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.”, stated Mary Dickerson, Director of Programs at Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

The Ripley County Community Foundation congratulates Gage Unrath and the four Ripley County Community Scholars for their hard work and achievements.

More from Local News


Students Explore Vocational Trades at Career Pathways Camps at SCC

Students were exposed to trades such as welding, automotive technician, cosmetology, and veterinary technician.

Cincinnati Man Indicted on Charges Stemming from Fatal Accident on I-75 in NKY

A recorded jail call helped investigators make the arrest.

Cincinnati Burger Week Returns for 10th Anniversary

Enjoy $7 burgers at participating locations over a 10-day span of July.

East Central to Host 20+ Teams at Trojan Shootout

It has been a great summer for EC's girls teams: Varsity team going (7-3), JV (7-2), incoming 8th graders (5-1 in a JV league).

Goldsberry Hired as South Ripley Girls Varsity Basketball Head Coach

The Lady Raiders have won seven championships in the past five years.

First of Six SIRC Races Takes in Rushville

The Southeastern Indiana Racing Circuit returns June 29.

On Air

Alison Wiegand playing
Van Zant - Help Somebody

Trent Tomlinson One Wing in the Fire 6:52
John Michael Montgomery The Little Girl 6:49
John Rich Earth To God 6:46
Shane Stockton Billy Saw the Light 6:40