South Ripley Girls Wins 3rd Straight Cross Country Title; Places Three On All-Conf. Team

The 2020 ORVC Boys and Girls Cross Country All-Conference Teams have been announced.

Photo by South Ripley Sports. 

(Versailles, Ind.) – The Ohio River Valley Conference has named its 2020 Boys and Girls Cross Country All-Conference Teams.

On the girls side, the South Ripley Lady Raiders captured their third straight ORVC Cross Country Championship behind three all-conference selections, Lanie Nicholson, Emily Campbell, and Deborah Murphy.

South Ripley held off Jac-Cen-Del by one point to claim the conference championship. Nicholson finished 2nd overall at the conference meet, while Campbell and Murphy finished 6th and 7th, respectively.

Lady Raiders head coach Jim Cole was named the 2020 ORVC Girls Coach of the Year.

The 2020 ORVC Mental Attitude Award went to South Ripley’s Ava Ralston.

In boys cross country, Southwestern claimed the conference championship, but it was Milan’s Ben Riehle who was the conference meet medalist. Riehle crossed the finish line just two seconds ahead of Jac-Cen-Del’s Josh Pohle.

Rising Sun led local teams with three all-conference selections. They are Peyton Merica, Nate Elliott and Dalton Vinup.

Southwestern’s Zac Nussbuam is the Boys Cross Country Coach of the Year, while Switzerland County’s Myles Covington earned the Mental Attitude Award.

The full 2020 ORVC Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams are listed below.



1. Calli Alderman Shawe Memorial 19:54

2. Lanie Nicholson South Ripley 20:04

3. Eliza Weston Shawe Memorial 21:29

4. Cloey Simon Jac-Cen-Del 21:40

5. Alisha Detmer Switzerland County 21:47

6. Emily Campbell South Ripley 21:53

7. Deborah Murphy South Ripley 22:05

8. Gracie White Switzerland County 22:18

9. Kirsten Geary Southwestern 22:22

10. Kayla Simon Jac-Cen-Del 22:38

11. Lucy Lillis Milan 22:38

12. Patricia Smith Southwestern 23:19



1. Ben Riehle Milan 17:43

2. Josh Pohle Jac-Cen-Del 17:45

3. Peyton Merica Rising Sun 17:55

4. Caleb Geary Southwestern 18:03

5. Joe Drossart Southwestern 18:11

6. Nathan Furnish Switzerland County 18:20

7. Damon Hughes Jac-Cen-Del 18:23

8. Nate Elliott Rising Sun 18:23

9. Dalton Vinup Rising Sun 18:25

10. Nick Zigan South Ripley 18:26

11. Colton Cloud Southwestern 18:33

12. Louis Liu Shawe Memorial 18:37

More from Local Sports


Kentucky Sees Early Success With Sports Wagering Prior to Launch of Mobile Betting

With first two weekends tallied, over $4.5 million wagered at sportsbooks in Kentucky.

Great Parks Embraces Day of Service on National Public Lands Day

Volunteers and Great Parks staff will pick up litter along the Great Miami River on Saturday.

Lawrenceburg Main Street's Haunted Wine Walk Happens Friday the 13th

Enjoy wine tastings, retail specials and downtown ghost stories.

LHS Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Set for Saturday

Five individuals and one team will make up the 2023 class.

Local Sports Report - September 21, 2023

Report missing stats and scores to

ORVC Releases Players of the Week for September 11-16

Six student-athletes highlight the latest weekly award winners.

On Air

Travis Thayer playing
Thomas Rhett - Die a Happy Man

Jon Pardi Your Heart or Mine 14:06
Gretchen Wilson Redneck Woman - EAGLE ONLY 14:03
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 14:02
Jelly Roll Son of a Sinner 13:58