ORVC Announces 2021 Boys & Girls Cross Country All-Conference Teams

Twenty-four runners are recognized.

Shutterstock photo.

(Rising Sun, Ind.) - Twenty-four runners have been recognized by the Ohio River Valley Conference. 

The 2021 ORVC Boys and Girls Cross Country All-Conference Teams, Mental Attitude Award winners, and Coaches of the Year were released on Friday.

Rising Sun is this year’s ORVC Boys Cross Country Champions. The Shiners placed three on the all-conference team, including the ORVC Individual Champion Peyton Merica (17:46). He is joined on the all-conference team by Ethan Markland (10th) and Casey Fletcher (12th).

Switzerland County and Milan were well represented on the all-conference team with two runners each.

Jac-Cen-Del’s Josh Pohle earned his way onto the all-conference team by finishing third at the conference meet. Pohle was also named the ORVC Boys Mental Attitude Award winner.

The 2021 ORVC Boys Cross Country Coach of the Year went to Caitlin Sauerhage, of Rising Sun.

Switzerland County claimed the 2021 ORVC Girls Cross Country Championship behind five all-conference runners, Claire Rogers (1st), Grace White (5th), Amber Detmer (6th), Alisha Detmer (7th), and Carlee Boggs (11th).

South Ripley had three all-conference selections, including Lanie Nicholson (3rd) who was named the Mental Attitude Award winner.

Switzerland County’s Maganmarie Dennis is the 2021 ORVC Girls Cross Country Coach of the Year.

The full 2021 ORVC Boys and Girls Cross Country All-Conference Teams are listed below.



1. Peyton Merica Rising Sun 17:46

2. Cooper Hon Switzerland County 17:59

3. Josh Pohle Jac-Cen-Del 18:01

4. Ben Riehle Milan 18:13

5. Joe Drossart Southwestern 18:23

6. Nathan Furnish Switzerland County 18:25

7. Sam Fewell Shawe Memorial 18:28

8. Ayden Potts Milan 18:42

9. Brandon Smith Southwestern 18:50

10. Ethan Markland Rising Sun 18:53

11. Keegan Gross Southwestern 19:08

12. Casey Fletcher Rising Sun 19:25



1. Claire Rogers Switzerland County 19:45

2. Calli Alderman Shawe Memorial 20:24

3. Lanie Nicholson South Ripley 20:35

4. Emily Campbell South Ripley 21:57

5. Grace White Switzerland County 22:10

6. Amber Detmer Switzerland County 22:20

7. Alisha Detmer Switzerland County 22:25

8. Kirsten Geary Southwestern 22:38

9. Deborah Murphy South Ripley 22:50

10. Kayla Simon Jac-Cen-Del 22:59

11. Carlee Boggs Switzerland County 23:10

12. Cloey Simon Jac-Cen-Del 23:12

More from Local Sports


Baylor Trucking Drivers Pick Up Wreaths for Wreaths Across America Day

The wreaths will be placed on veteran graves in Ohio and Indiana.

Parents Arrested on Assault Charges After Infant Overdose

The child has been discharged from the hospital.

Greendale’s Christmas on the Avenue Planned for This Saturday

Proceeds benefit the Dearborn County Historical Society for upkeep of the Vance-Tousey House and Angevine Cabin.

K of C Free Throw Contest Set for January 13 in Aurora

All boys and girls ages 9 to 14 are invited to compete.

Local Sports Report - December 7, 2023

Report missing high school sports scores and stats to news@eaglecountryonline.com

Ripley County Tournament Pairings Revealed

Jac-Cen-Del and Batesville are the host schools this season.

On Air

Rick Burnius playing
Kenny Chesney - That's Why I'm Here

Alan Jackson and Jimmy Buffett It's Five O'Clock Somewhere 17:46
Luke Bryan But I Got A Beer In My Hand - EAGLE ONLY NO INTRO IMAGING 17:43
Sara Evans A Real Fine Place To Start 17:39
Confederate Railroad Queen Of Memphis 17:36