2023 Adopt-A-Highway Art Contest Winners Announced

12 Kentucky students selected from nearly 900 entries to promote litter-free roadsides.

Simran Lad's first place artwork in the 5-8 age category. Photo provided. 

(Frankfort, Ky.) – On Thursday, Governor Andy Beshear announced that 12 students representing 11 Kentucky counties were top finishers in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2023 Adopt-A-Highway Art Contest.

The annual contest allows young Kentuckians to showcase their talents while promoting an important message of keeping roadsides free of litter.

This year’s theme “Can it, Kentucky” drew in nearly 900 entries statewide from students ages 5-18.

Locally, Shirley Mann Elementary School (Boone County) student Simran Lad placed first in the 5-8 age category.

The top finishers in each of the four age divisions received a $100 gift card, while second and third place finishers received $50 gift cards.

Each of the top finishers will have their artwork displayed at the Transportation Cabinet Office Building in Frankfort.

“Litter-free roadsides do more than protect our scenic byways; they also keep harmful materials from washing off roads and sidewalks and into our drinking water,” said Secretary Jim Gray. “We’re grateful to have students be part of the solution of maintaining a clean and safe environment.”

The 2023 contest winners are:

5-8 age category

1st place     Simran Lad          Shirley Mann Elementary School, Boone County

2nd place    Cruz Melton         Greenville Elementary School, Muhlenberg County

3rd place     Joshua James     Victory Arts, Carter County

9-11 age category

1st place     Meera Patel       Good Shepherd School, Franklin County

2nd place    Natalie Leake     Old Kentucky Home Middle School, Nelson County

3rd place     Sophia Reik       Garrard Middle School, Garrard County

12-14 age category

1st place     Blakely Callahan        South Laurel High School, Laurel County

2nd place    Kathryn Whitecotton  Heritage Christian Academy, Christian County

3rd place     Brynlee Smith            McLean County Middle School

15-18 age category

1st place     Jasmine Beckwith      Christian County High School

2nd place    Shannen Eckert          Rockcastle County High School

3rd place     Cloey Bowman           Morgan County High School

More from Local News


Suspect in Custody After Armed Robbery Attempt at Hollywood Casino

Not many details have been released, but some injuries were reported.

Ripley Co. Sheriff's Office Receiving Calls on "Police Officer" Phone Scam

Residents are reminded to never give out personal information over the phone.

Milan 6th Graders Hold Titanic Museum

A fun activity this morning at Milan Schools.

Local Sports Report - March 2, 2024

Congratulations to Batesville, Oldenburg and Switzerland Co. on winning sectional titles in boys basketball.

Local Sports Report - March 1, 2024

Six area teams advances to the boys basketball sectional championship round.

Meyer, Mears, Simpson Named IBCA All-State Honorable Mention

The trio is among seven players from the EIAC or ORVC to earn All-State honors.

On Air

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band Fishin' In The Dark 13:15
Chris Young and Mitchell Tenpenny At the End of a Bar 13:10
Parker McCollum Handle on You 13:06
Terri Clark You're Easy On The Eyes 13:03