Trabel, Cox Named EIAC MVPs; Boys & Girls All-Conference Teams Released

Another great season of EIAC basketball.

(St. Leon, Ind.) - Twenty-four basketball players have been recognized as the top players in the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference for the 2021-22 season. 

The EIAC released its Boys and Girls Basketball All-Conference Teams, MVPs and Coaches of the Year on Tuesday. 

The East Central Lady Trojans won the EIAC for the second year in a row with a perfect 7-0 record in conference play. Junior Josie Trabel was named the EIAC MVP.

Against EIAC opponents, Trabel was second in scoring at 16.6 points per game, and first in field goal percentage at 66.7 percent. She also ranked in the top 10 in rebounds, assists, steals, and free throw shooting. 

Trabel is joined on the All-Conference Team by Indiana All-Star and senior guard Hope Fox, sophomore Laney Baker, and junior Julia Tiemann. 

Lawrenceburg (4-3 in EIAC) had two all-conference selections in senior Kirsten Cross and junior Lizzie Redar. Both were among the top six scorers in the conference. 

The rest of the girl's all-conference team is made up of stars from Rushville, Greensburg, and Connersville. 

East Central head coach Kevin Moore was named the EIAC Girls Basketball Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Trojans to their second-consecutive conference championship, and third-straight sectional title. 

On the boy's side of the conference, Connersville captured the EIAC title with an unblemished 7-0 record behind all-conference players Tobey Billups and Josh Williams. 

Franklin County's Chad Cox was named the EIAC MVP. Cox averaged 17.1 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 1.6 steals against EIAC teams. He also broke Franklin County's all-time scoring record. Brant Ertel also made all-conference for the third-place Wildcats. 

East Central, Lawrenceburg, and South Dearborn combined for five all-conference selections. They are Caleb Merganthal (EC), Jadyn Dennis (EC), Jackson Bobo (L'Burg), Reese Willoughby (SD), and Eli Hoffman (SD). 

Connersville head coach Kerry Brown is the EIAC Boys Basketball Coach of the Year. 

The full 2021-22 Boys and Girls EIAC Basketball All-Conference Teams are listed below. 



East Central (7-0) - Josie Trabel (MVP), Hope Fox, Laney Baker, Julia Tiemann

Rushville (6-1) - Annika Marlow, Briley Munchel, Sophia Dora

Greensburg (5-2) - Mylie Wilkison, Leah West

Lawrenceburg (4-3) - Kirsten Cross, Lizzie Redar

Franklin County (3-4) 

Connersville (1-6) - Paige Dunaway

Batesville (1-6)

South Dearborn (1-6)



Connersville (7-0) - Tobey Billups, Josh Williams

Greensburg (5-2) - Colin Comer, Ki Dyer

Franklin County (4-3) - Chad Cox (MVP), Brant Ertel

East Central (4-3) - Caleb Merganthal, Jadyn Dennis

Lawrenceburg (4-3) - Jackson Bobo

South Dearborn (3-4) - Eli Hoffman, Reese Willoughby

Batesville (1-6) - Thomas Raver

Rushville (0-7) 








More from Local Sports


Ohio County Names 2024 Lilly Scholarship Winner

Congratulations to Rising Sun HS senior Alyssa Simpson.

Perfect North Slopes Opens Saturday

Terrain will be limited on Opening Day.

Dearborn County YP, The Community Project Team for Food & Toy Drive

The drive thru event takes place December 10 at FCN Bank in Lawrenceburg.

Local Sports Report - November 30, 2023

Report missing stats and scores to

Local Sports Report - November 29, 2023

Report missing high school sports scores and stats to

EC's Bruss to Play Softball at Ashland University

Bruss was voted EC's Most Valuable Player last spring.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Travis Tritt - Foolish Pride

Eric Church Monsters 16:09
Dylan Scott Can't Have Mine 16:06
George Strait Write This Down 16:03
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 16:02