Local Sports Report - January 4 & 5

Rivertown Classic, Ripley County Tournament, and EIAC Swimming champions were crowned this past weekend.

Please report missing scores and statistics to 888-537-9724 or email sports -at- eaglecountryonline.com.





East Central 54, Rushville 35

Union County 54, Franklin County 28

Oldenburg Academy 60, Shawe Memorial 29 – Jake Johnson led OA with 17 points, 5 rebounds, 2 assists, and 2 steals. Andrew Oesterling contributed with 10 points and 4 rebounds.



Rivertown Classic

Championship – Lawrenceburg 56, South Dearborn 22 – Lawrenceburg wins the Girls Rivertown Classic for the third straight year, and fourth overall, thanks to tournament MVP Juliana Kemper’s 20 points. Tristyn Dennis scored 13 for LHS. SD was led by Kyrstin Bond and Alyssa McClanahan each had 8 points.

Consolation – Switzerland County 44, Rising Sun 31 – Switz’s Aleiah Thomas led all scorers with 22 points.


Ripley County Tournament

Championship – Jac-Cen-Del 52, South Ripley 49 – Tournament MVP Mariah Day’s 20-point performance led JCD to the tournament title. Page Ledford had 14 and Abigail Williams scored 10 for the Lady Eagles. South Ripley’s Morgan Peetz had 19 points.

Consolation – Batesville 65, Milan 41 – Batesville’s Hattie Westerfeld scored 24 points and grabbed 10 rebounds. Ashley Nobbe and Ellie Weachter each added 11 points. Danyka Groover led Rising Sun with 10 points.


Oldenburg Academy 57, Shawe Memorial 37






Rivertown Classic

Championship – Rising Sun 51, Switzerland County 35 – Rivertown Classic MVP Noah Pflum guided the Shiners to their first ever Rivertown championship with 27 points. Nick Koons scored 10 for the Shiners. The Pacers were led by Dalton Tingle with 15.

Consolation – South Dearborn 57, Lawrenceburg 47 – Alex Shackelford starred for South Dearborn with 26 points and 5 rebounds while Isaiah Jefferson scored 14. Lawrenceburg was led by Gavin Yoon with 19 points. Kamar Chenault scored 8 points with 15 rebounds.


Ripley County Tournament

Championship - Batesville 65, Milan 48

Consolation – Jac-Cen-Del 54, South Ripley 51 – Brandon Baber and Caleb Simon each led Jac-Cen-Del with 12 points.


Villa Madonna (Ky.) 69, Oldenburg Academy 67 – Jake Johnson had 21 points, 4 rebounds, and 4 steals for Oldenburg. Teammates Zach Wegman and Dempsey Bohman added 16 and 14 points, respectively.




East Central 39, Rushville 37 – East Central’s staved off a Rushville comeback attempt thanks to 14 points from Brilan McCory. Alyssa Robben had 7 points and 7 rebounds.

Greensburg 55, Franklin County 28

Oldenburg Academy 65, Seton Catholic 34




EIAC Championships

The East Central boys and the Greensburg girls were the team champs at the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference Championship meet at South Dearborn on Saturday.

Boys team scores: East Central 384, Connersville 221, Greensburg 205, Lawrenceburg 184, Batesville 167, South Dearborn 24.

Girls team scores: Greensburg 339, East Central 303, Connersville 228, Batesville 177, Lawrenceburg 99, South Dearborn 21.

EC AquaTrojans set new EIAC records in the following events: EC Boys 200 Medley Relay (Nick Weber, Jackson Ketcham, Jacob Weber, Owen Matthew), Jacob Weber in the 200 IM, and Kyra Hall in 100 Backstroke.

East Central conference champions are as follows:

Boys 200 Medley Relay (Nick Weber, Jackson Ketcham, Jacob Weber, Owen Matthew)

Boys 200 Freestyle-Jackson Ketcham

Girls 200 IM-Kyra Hall

Boys 200 IM-Jacob Weber ***EIAC Conference Record***

Girls 50 Free-Olivia Nixon

Boys 50 Free-Nick Weber

Girls 1 meter diving-Aly Bailey

Girls 100 Butterfly-Mackenzie Schantz

Boys 100 Butterfly-Matthew Badinghaus

Girls 100 Free-Olivia Nixon

Boys 100 Free-Jacob Weber

Boys 500 Free-Jackson Ketcham

Girls 200 Freestyle Relay (Kyra Hall, Caroline Walters, Mackenzie Schantz, Olivia Nixon)

Boys 200 Freestyle Relay (Owen Matthew, Ray Krider, Matthew Badinghaus, Ethen Witte)

Girls 100 Backstroke-Kyra Hall ***EIAC Conference and School Record***

Boys 100 Backstroke-Nick Weber

Boys 400 Freestyle Relay (Jackson Ketcham, Matthew Badinghaus, Nick Weber, Jacob Weber)


More from Local Sports


UPDATE: "Pacman" Jones To Serve 10 Days In Jail After Pleading To Casino Cheating, Altercation

Five new charges were filed Thursday as Jones and prosecutors reached a tentative plea agreement in Ohio County court.

Convicted Of Murder As Teen, David Hunter Is About To Be Released From Prison

Milan murder victim Freida Busteed's grandson believes Hunter is going free too soon.

Man Caught With Runaway Cleves Teen In Florida

Raymond Curtis drove the teen to Florida and engaged in sex with her, police say.

Twenty High School Hoops Stars Earn Academic All-State Honors

These student-athletes have the special ability to score points on the hardwood and in the classroom.

Mason Parris, Freshman At Michigan, Upset In First Round Of NCAA Championships

Mason has had an impressive freshman season for the Wolverines, racking up 30 wins.

EIAC Wrestling All-Conference Team Named; SD's Hall Is MVW

East Central had the best team but it was South Dearborn who produced the Most Valuable Wrestler.

On Air

Kenny Chesney Til It's Gone 10:47
Miranda Lambert Automatic 10:43
Big & Rich California 10:39
Chris Stapleton Millionaire 10:36