$53K Awarded By South Dearborn Dollars For Scholars

Friday, July 12th, 2019 7:18am

By South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars, news release

More than 40 graduating students from South Dearborn High School's Class of 2019 are getting money for college.

South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars 2019 scholarship winners from South Dearborn High School. Photo by Michelle Brown.

(Aurora, Ind.) - South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars is the local chapter of a national 501(c)3 organization – Scholarship America.  The South Dearborn chapter was founded in 1991 and since then, they have awarded over $898,000 in college scholarships to 900 SD graduates.

On May 30th, at the South Dearborn High School Awards Program, SDDFS awarded $53,550 in scholarships to 42 college bound students from the SD Class of 2019.  South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars administers 46 different named or memorial scholarships for local families, businesses & organizations, along with their own SDDFS Foundation Scholarships.   More information about each scholarship can be found on their website www.southdearborn.dollarsforscholars.org.

South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars would like to thank the HUNDREDS OF VOLUNTEERS AND DONORS that make the organization and scholarships possible.   It takes 12 months of hard work and dedication to raise the money that is awarded in less than 90 minutes.  However, when the scholarship recipients become donors, you know it is a good thing.  Best of Luck to the Class of 2019!


Brittany Kelly Black Memorial Scholarship - $2,000 – Corben Slack

Katie Bruner Memorial Scholarship - $1,000 – Kelsie Jackson

David & Kay Bruner Chalk Education Scholarship - $500 -  Caitlyn Porter

Amy Cotton Memorial Scholarship - $500 each – Bryston Cotton & Gunner Markland

Brandon Tyler Cromer Memorial Scholarship - $500 – Ethan Getz

Marvin and Sabra Duerstock Scholarship - $1,000 each - Marianna Carillo-Reyes, Joshua Hensley & Alexandra Powell

Morgan Gentry Memorial Scholarship - $300 – Alexandra Powell

Kathi Green Memorial Scholarship - $600 – Zachary Otto

Deborah Kaye (Meyers) Guss Memorial Scholarship - $500 - Danielle Chivelle

Darla Jacobs Memorial Scholarship - $500 each – Hailey Brandt & Graci Cornett

Kraig Jefferson Memorial Scholarship - $500 – Ethan Getz

Vickie Luhrsen Memorial Scholarship - $600 – Zachary Otto

Michael Marine Memorial Scholarship  - $2,000 each -  Noah Probst & Bret Lusby

Cindy McGraw / Mackenzie Stuart Memorial Scholarship - $500 – Alyssa McClanahan

Matt McIntosh Memorial Scholarship - $500 each – Katelyn Brown & Madison Jones

Mindy McIntosh Memorial Scholarship - $500 -  Sarah Schimmel

Karlita Meyer Memorial Scholarship  - $500 - Leah Wright

Chris Midlam Memorial Scholarship - $500 -  Haley Greive

Donald Miller Memorial Scholarship - $500 -  Adam Bushorn

Coach Jim O’Brien Memorial Soccer Scholarship - $250 each - Bryston Cotton & Alyssa McClanahan

RC Patel Memorial Scholarship - $500 - Cameron Hoskins

Jan Powell Memorial Scholarship - $500 each -  Alexis Grimes, Bryston Cotton & Nathan Cantrell

Becky Ridlen Memorial Scholarship - $500 – Gunner Markland

Gary Russell Memorial Scholarship - $300 – Jayden Wessell

Charlie Thayer Memorial Golden Glove Softball Scholarship - $250 each – Cameron Hoskins & Graci Cornett

Jim Thayer Memorial Scholarship - $500 – Ethan Getz

Tim Tyler Memorial Athletic Scholarship - $1,000 – Leah Wright

Aurora Fire Department Scholarship - $750 each – Corben Slack & Hailey Brandt

Aurora Liberty Tax Scholarship - $500 – Lauren Weissmann

Barrott Family Scholarship - $2,500 each – Holly Roberts & Mayce Lagaly.

Barrott Family First Generation Scholarship - $2000 -  Rachel Montes.

Berninger Family Education Scholarship - $500 -  Caitlyn Porter

Ewan Family National Honor Society Scholarship - $500 – Madison Jones

Future Artists Scholarship - $250 – Cassidy Lutterbeck  

Good Knight Volunteer Award - $500 – Autumn Secrest

Foster Harris Football Scholarship - $250 – Zachary Otto

Ivy Tech / Dollars for Scholars Matching Scholarships - $200 from SDDFS / $200 from Ivy Tech - Bret Lusby, Joshua Hensley, Leah Wright, Sarah Schimmel & Adam Bushorn

Bill Lakes Dillsboro Elementary School Scholarship - $250 each – Bret Lusby & Graci Cornett

Laughery Valley Veterinary Hospital Scholarship - $500 – Alexis Grimes

McDonald’s Outstanding Employee Scholarship - $500 – Emily Lusby

Moores Hill Alumni Scholarship - $500 each – Katelyn Brown & Gunner Markland

Project Lead the Way Scholarship - $250 – Zachary Otto

Rollins Family Scholarship - $500 – Lila Socks

Patrick Savage Academic Achievement Scholarship - $250 – Joshua Hensley

South Dearborn Baseball Scholarship - $250 -  Noah Probst.

South Dearborn Basketball Scholarships - $250 each – Mackenzie Teke & Christopher Moeller


2019 South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars - Squire Challenge Scholarships - $100 each - Haley Greive, Rachel Montes, Katelyn Brown, Mackenzie Teke, Bryston Cotton, Mayce Lagaly, Kelsie Jackson, Nathan Cantrell, Ethan Getz, Alexandra Powell & Madison Jones



2019 South Dearborn Dollars for Scholars Foundation Scholarships

$1,000 each – Danielle Chivelle & Haley Greive

$750 each – Lila Socks, Cleo Willoughby, Jeffrey Cull & Brooklyn Halbig

$500 each – Rachel Montes, Katelyn Brown, Kelsie Jackson, Nathan Cantrell, Emily Lusby, Jacob Lewis, Alexis Grimes, Bryston Cotton, Lauren Weissmann, Marianna Carillo-Reyes, Jayden Wessell & Autumn Secrest

$250 each – Noah Probst, Faith Hensley, Alyssa McClanahan & Kayla Draper

More from Local News


  • Dillsboro Public Library Photo Contest

    The Dillsboro Public Library has been selected to host a traveling Smithsonian exhibit, "Crossroads: Change in Rural America," which highlights the changing landscape in rural America. Since 1900, the percentage of Americans living in rural areas dropped from 60 percent to 17 percent, yet the vast majority of America’s physical landscape remains rural.

    at Dillsboro Public Library
  • Fabled Forest Week

    Explore one of the largest habitats in the park with forest-themed games, activities and live forest animals. A craft is available for a small fee.

    at Miami Whitewater Forest
  • Pound Class

    PoundFit with SamK ~ Cardio inspired by drumming! Burn calories, tone muscles and build strength all while moving to the beat of the music!! This 45 minute jam session will change your life!! All you need to bring is water, a yoga mat if you have one and $5! Every Wednesday 6pm at Heritage Hall and every Friday at 6:00 p.m. at Rising Sun Church of Christ (this location may sometimes change due to church functions).

    at Heritage Hall

One Killed After Large Fight At Florence Pub

One person was killed after a large fight broke out at a Florence bar early Sunday morning.

Community Members Help SD PeeWee Football Get New Refrigerators

The youth football organization fell victim to the theft of three commercial refrigerators and a freezer last Monday.

Indiana School Safety Grant Applications Available Online

The grant application is open through Aug. 2.

EC Swimmers Gear Up For Tough Competitions

Its going to be a busy few weeks for East Central swimmers of all ages.

Blake Walsman Signs With Pro Team In Iceland

Playing pro ball is a dream come true for the former Batesville Bulldogs star.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Alabama - Why Lady Why

Trent Harmon There's A Girl 0:32
Jason Aldean Fly Over States 0:29
Cole Swindell Break Up In The End 0:25
Travis Tritt More Than You'll Ever Know 0:22