Twenty High School Hoops Stars Earn Academic All-State Honors

These student-athletes have the special ability to score points on the hardwood and in the classroom.

(Indianapolis, Ind.) – Twenty local hoops stars have been honored for their work in the classroom.

The Indiana Basketball Coaches Association announced this week its 2018-19 Boys and Girls Academic All-State teams.

A total of 39 boys and 37 girls received first-team honors, while an additional 382 student-athletes were honorable mention.

Locally, East Central’s Logan Cox, Jac-Cen-Del’s Mariah Day and Batesville’s Hattie Westerfeld were named first-team academic all-state.

The Lawrenceburg trio of Makenna White, Justice Chambers and Macey Radenheimer were honorable mention selections.

Six others were named Academic All-State Honorable Mention including: Sydney Bostic and Danyka Groover (Rising Sun), Abby Koch (East Central), Ellie Waechter (Batesville), Alyssa McClanahan (South Dearborn) and Jenna Orschell (Franklin County).

On the boys side, Rising Sun’s Nick Koons and Batesville’s Robert Raver were named to the IBCA Academic All-State First-Team.

Trey Heidlage (Batesville), Kris Hetzer (Oldenburg Academy), Alex Maxwell (East Central), Zach Mollaun (Lawrenceburg), Noah Pflum (Rising Sun) and Eli Sporleder (Oldenburg Academy) made honorable mention.

In order to be considered for academic all-state honors, student-athletes must maintain a 3.5 GPA or high, a class rank in the upper 25 percent, an SAT score of 1,100 or an ACT score of 24.

 “The quality of these student-athletes shows that success in academics and success in athletics are not separate entities,”said Steve Witty, IBCA executive director. “Rather, in many cases, a player’s success in the classroom directly contributes to his or her success on the floor.”

More from Local Sports


Ohio County Names 2024 Lilly Scholarship Winner

Congratulations to Rising Sun HS senior Alyssa Simpson.

Perfect North Slopes Opens Saturday

Terrain will be limited on Opening Day.

Dearborn County YP, The Community Project Team for Food & Toy Drive

The drive thru event takes place December 10 at FCN Bank in Lawrenceburg.

Local Sports Report - November 30, 2023

Report missing stats and scores to

Local Sports Report - November 29, 2023

Report missing high school sports scores and stats to

EC's Bruss to Play Softball at Ashland University

Bruss was voted EC's Most Valuable Player last spring.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Tim McGraw - She Never Lets It Go to Her Heart

Dierks Bentley Gone 17:09
Riley Green and Luke Combs Different Round Here 17:07
John Michael Montgomery I Love The Way You Love Me 17:03
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 17:02