Three East Central Basketball Stars Win IBCA Scholarships

A total of 24 student-athletes received a scholarship from the IBCA.

(St. Leon, Ind.) – Three student-athletes from East Central High School have received a scholarship award from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

The IBCA announced this week the recipients of the Crawley, Mannies, and Aikman awards.

East Central seniors Cooper Hoog, Casey McQueen, and Caleb Merganthal were among 20 Crawley Scholarship winners, receiving $750 each. 

Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one's school and community.

Marion Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach, winning two state titles at Washington and two with Lafayette.

Through the years, the IBCA has awarded about $760,000 in scholarships to Indiana student-athletes.

A full list of 2022 scholarship recipients are listed below.



Student, School, Coach, Role

Will Delaney, Wes-Del, John McGlothin, boys' player



Student, School, Coach, Role

Jack Ahlbrand, Jasper, John Goebel, boys' player

Jasper Campbell, Shenandoah, David McCollough, boys' player

Alivia Dalrymple, Adams Central, Doug Curtis, girls' player

Emma DeCamp, New Washington, Kirsti Holloway, girls' player

Warren Halbig, Evansville Mater Dei, Kurt Wildeman, boys' player

Taylor Hart, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player

Alex Holmes, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player

Cooper Hoog, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player

Andrea Justis, Columbus North, Brett White, girls' player

Taylor Lynch, Madison, Sonja Bowyer, girls' player

Annika Marlow, Rushville, Melissa Marlow, girls' player

Casey McQueen, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player

Caleb Mergenthal, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player

Nick Mundy, Mitchell, Jackson Ryan, boys' player

Jada Rhonehouse, Fremont, Scott Sprague, girls' player

Loren Stoll, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player

Hannah Taylor, Roncalli, Michael Wantz, student manager

Isaac Tuma, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger, boys' player

Dayveon Turner, Indianapolis Arsenal Tech, Damon Turner, boys' player

Ella Wolfe, Tipton, Chad Wetz, girls' player



Student, School, Coach, Role

Carson Brindle, Gibson Southern, Mark Rohrer, boys' player

Jolie Groves, Triton, Kennedy Krull, girls' player

Jordan Zody, Shenandoah, David McCollough, boys' player

More from Local Sports

Huseman Road Closure

The closure will begin on or after June 10.

Franklin Co. Sheriff's Dept. Seeking Public Assistance in Identifying Hit & Run Suspect

A two-vehicle collision took place on Saturday along Mortashed Road.

Career Scholarship Account Application Now Open for Indiana High School Students

CSA program expands opportunities for student work-based learning and apprenticeships.

Record Breaking Performances Highlight Local Track & Field Sectional Round

East Central's boys and girls teams were crowned team champs

2024 Track & Field Academic All-State Teams Announced

Thirty-two student-athletes from SEI were recognized.

Local Sports Report - May 17-18, 2024

East Central Girls Tennis wins a sectional title and Rising Sun Boys Golf takes ORVC Title.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Clint Black - Nothin But The Taillights

Alabama Old Flame 0:35
Dixie Chicks Cowboy Take Me Away 0:29
Rascal Flatts Winner At A Losing Game 0:25
Scotty McCreery This Is It 0:21