EC's Hopper, Browndyke, Roden Named EIAC Soccer MVPs; All-Conf. Teams Announced

Lawrenceburg's Dominic Tribbie was also named a MVP.

Shutterstock photo.

(St. Leon, Ind.) – It was a dominate 2021 season for East Central soccer.

The Trojans captured the EIAC Championship in both girls and boys soccer, with both programs going undefeated against conference rivals.

The Lady Trojans were led by EIAC Offensive MVP Olivia Hopper and EIAC Defensive MVP Sophie Browndyke, in addition to four more all-conference selections: Julia Tiemann, Caitlyn Dick, Erika Wells, and Addyson Arnult.

Hopper, a sophomore, led the Trojans with 16 goals and was second on the team in assists with 13. Browndyke anchored a Trojans defense that allowed only five goals all season.

Second-place Lawrenceburg placed five on the all-conference team, while South Dearborn had three all-conference selections, including Bernadette Wismann.

The Knights sophomore scored 32 goals, setting the South Dearborn single season record.

The 2021 EIAC Girls Soccer Coach of the Year went to East Central’s Bill Volker.

On the boys side of the conference, East Central had six all-conference selections led by EIAC Offensive MVP JT Roden. The Trojans’ star scored 28 goals on his way to earning Second Team All-State honors from the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association.

Roden is joined on the all-conference team by Joey Black, Matthew Hornbach, Nathan Zillick, Chance Muncy, and Riley Smith.

Second-place Lawrenceburg placed five on the all-conference team, including EIAC Defensive MVP Dominic Tribbie.

South Dearborn’s Ashton Cotton is one of three Knights who made all-conference. This season, Cotton set the single-season school record for assists with 26.

The 2021 EIAC Boys Soccer Coach of the Year went to B.J. Black.



East Central (7-0): Olivia Hopper (Off. MVP), Sophie Browndyke (Def. MVP), Julia Tiemann, Caitlyn Dick, Erika Wells, Addyson Arnult

Lawrenceburg (6-1): Kalana Kent, Chloe Meyer, Kyra Abbott, Ryleigh Offutt, Ella McAndrew

Batesville (5-2): Elena Kuisel, Lily Meyer, Jadyn Harrington, Billie Puente

South Dearborn (4-3): Mikayla Rudisell, Brooklynn Ward, Bernadette Wismann

Franklin County (3-4): Jordan Nichols, Maegan Pearson

Connersville (2-5): Kiley Smith, Eden Judd

Rushville (1-6): Lexi Morris

Greensburg (0-7): Ella Lowe



East Central (7-0): JT Roden (Off. MVP), Joey Black, Matthew Hornbach, Nathan Zillick, Chance Muncy, Riley Smith

Lawrenceburg (6-1): Dominic Tribbie (Def. MVP), Kolby Sharpshair, Asher Gentry, Jason Cosby, Ryan Moorman

Batesville (5-2): Adam Vogelsang, Eli Pierson, Cody Sims, Willy Sherwood

South Dearborn (4-3): Ashton Cotton, Logan Ross, Dana Lewis

Connersville (3-4): Cody Naylor, Nolan Shawl

Rushville (2-5): Carter Tague, Jesus Leon

Greensburg (1-6): Grayson Newhart

Franklin County (0-7): Jayden Taylor

More from Local Sports

Huseman Road Closure

The closure will begin on or after June 10.

Franklin Co. Sheriff's Dept. Seeking Public Assistance in Identifying Hit & Run Suspect

A two-vehicle collision took place on Saturday along Mortashed Road.

Career Scholarship Account Application Now Open for Indiana High School Students

CSA program expands opportunities for student work-based learning and apprenticeships.

Record Breaking Performances Highlight Local Track & Field Sectional Round

East Central's boys and girls teams were crowned team champs

2024 Track & Field Academic All-State Teams Announced

Thirty-two student-athletes from SEI were recognized.

Local Sports Report - May 17-18, 2024

East Central Girls Tennis wins a sectional title and Rising Sun Boys Golf takes ORVC Title.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Michael Ray - Kiss You in the Morning

Eric Church Monsters 0:08
Toby Keith A Few More Cowboys 0:05
Aaron Tippin Kiss This 0:02
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 0:01