RCCF Announces Five 2020 Lilly Scholarship Finalists

Thursday, October 31, 2019 at 3:39 PM

By Ripley County Community Foundation, news release

The scholarship winner will be announced in late December.

Ripley County 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalists (left to right): Joseph Hartman, Sophie Wesseler, Abigail Blomer, Alexandra Dudley and Gage Unrath. Photos provided. 

(Ripley County, Ind.) - Forty-six high school seniors of Ripley County, Class of 2020, applied for the prestigious 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship earlier this school year. The Ripley County Community Foundation Committee narrowed the field to five finalists, representing four area high schools. Program Director of the Ripley County Community Foundation, Laura Hamilton, stated, “All of the applicants reviewed during the 23rd Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship process are at the top of their classes and have a great deal of potential. The committee had a difficult task ahead of them but were able to narrow the decision to five finalists who are well-rounded individuals that exemplify leadership skills and assets that make each of these students deserving of this award.”

The five Ripley County finalists include: Abigail Blomer, daughter of Michele Appel and Michael Blomer, is a senior attending Batesville High School; Alexandra Dudley, daughter of Julie and Jay Dudley, is a senior attending East Central High School; Joseph Hartman, son of Andrea and Charles Hartman, is a senior attending Batesville High School; Gage Unrath, son of Jennifer and Vince Unrath, is a senior attending Jac-Cen-Del High School; and Sophie Wesseler, daughter of Carrie and Neil Wesseler, is a senior attending Oldenburg Academy.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipient will receive full tuition for four years to an Indiana College, plus a $900 per year book stipend. The other four finalists will each receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Ripley County Community Foundation for their freshman year, and a Grateful Families Scholarship and a Jane Deiwert Scholarship during their sophomore year.

The 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship winner will be announced in late December after the Independent Colleges of Indiana Scholarship Committee notifies the Ripley County Community Foundation of the chosen recipient.

More from Local News


Semi-Crash, Vehicle Fire Cause Lengthy Closure on I-74

The crash closed I-74 in the construction zone near West Harrison for several hours on Monday.

Franklin Co. Public Library District Announces Summer Reading Program

Readers of all ages can win some pretty sweet prizes.

Aurora EMS Truck Fundraiser Happens Saturday

The 21 and over event will feature drinks, live music and a silent auction.

Local Sports Report - June 2-3, 2023

Rising Sun baseball advanced in the state tournament and area runners competed at the Track & Field State Finals.

Local Sports Report - May 31, 2023

Rising Sun softball fell in a heart breaker in the regional round.

Bode, Cornett, Stang Earn All-State Honors

The standouts from Milan, South Dearborn and Franklin Co. put up video game-like stats this spring.

On Air

Travis Thayer playing
Brantley Gilbert - Heaven by Then f/ Blake Shelton & Vince Gill

Luke Bryan Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset 9:27
Lee Ann Womack I Hope You Dance 9:24
Glen Campbell Country Boy [You've Got Your Feet in LA] 9:21
Brett Eldredge Love Someone 9:17