Leising: Bill Providing Easy-to-Read School Testing Results Passes Senate

Friday, February 3, 2023 at 9:48 AM

By State Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg), news release

SB 168 will now move to the Indiana House of Representatives for consideration.

Shutterstock photo.

INDIANAPOLIS - A bill authored by State. Sen Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg) that would require a summary of a student's statewide testing results to be included on their statewide assessment report passed the Senate unanimously today.

Senate Bill 168 would require the Indiana Department of Education to ensure their statewide assessment vendors provide easy-to-read summaries of a student's results on their statewide assessment report, which would assist teachers and families in understanding what subjects their students may be struggling in.

"In order to improve a child's education, families and instructors need to understand what subject areas the student is struggling in," Leising said. "Making test results easier to read will help instructors and families take more well-informed actions in helping their student obtain fundamental learning skills."

SB 168 will now move to the Indiana House of Representatives for further consideration. To learn more about the bill, visit iga.in.gov.

More from Local News


South Ripley & Superintendent Recognized by Champions Together

In 2023, South Ripley High School became the first and only school in the State of Indiana to earn the National Banner for a second time.

Dearborn County Fair 4H Royalty Crowned

Congratulations to the 11 individuals on the court.

First of Six SIRC Races Takes in Rushville

The Southeastern Indiana Racing Circuit returns June 29.

Harrison's Schafer Wins 5K Run, Osgood's Pohle Takes 5-Miler at Lauren's Burg Hill

All proceeds from the event support Lauren's Fight for Cure.

Noah Knigga Verbally Commits to Eastern Michigan

Another SEI star is heading to the MAC.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Brett Eldredge - Beat of the Music

Charley Pride You're So Good When You're Bad 20:17
Tyler Hubbard and Tim McGraw Undivided 20:10
Jackson Dean Fearless 20:06
Lonestar I'm Already There 20:02