ISP Troopers Start Solo Patrols

One of the two new ISP - Versailles Troopers is a St. Leon native.

Troopers Payton Utterback and Brian Weigel with their first assigned police vehicles. Photo by Indiana State Police - Versailles Post.

(Versailles, Ind.) – Two new Indiana State Troopers are set to begin solo patrols in the Versailles District.

On Wednesday, Troopers Payton Utterback and Brian Weigel received their first assigned police vehicles.

Both are graduates of the 82nd ISP Recruit Academy.

Weigel, 28, is a 2012 East Central High School graduate. Prior to attending the Indiana State Police Academy, Weigel served as a deputy with the Dearborn County Sheriff’s Office for nearly five years.

He is assigned to patrol Zone 4 which includes Dearborn and Ripley counties.

Utterback, a Franklin native, is assigned to Zone 1, patrolling Jackson and Bartholomew counties.

More from Local News


BCEF Receives Grant for Outdoor Learning Complex at Batesville Primary School

BCEF plans to announce more details about the construction of the BPS complex in early 2024.

Rising Sun HS Teacher Selected to be 2024 Grants in Place Fellow

The Fellows will work with their respective students on place-based projects, which address specific community issues.

DCF Proactive Grant Helps Dearborn County Historical Society with New Tech

In its 25th year of helping donors make a difference, DCF is awarding 15 proactive grants of $1,000 each throughout 2023.

Ripley County Tournament Pairings Revealed

Jac-Cen-Del and Batesville are the host schools this season.

Local Sports Report - December 6, 2023

Switzerland County’s first ever Varsity Girls Wrestling Match took place on Wednesday.

Rising Sun's Simpson, Mossburger Among Six to Earn ORVC Weekly Honors

The ORVC Report for November 27-December 2 was released on Tuesday.

On Air

Rick Burnius playing
Thomas Rhett - Angels Don't Always Have Wings EAGLE ONLY NO INTRO IMAGING

Eric Church Round Here Buzz 15:29
Tanya Tucker If Your Heart Ain't Busy Tonight 15:26
Elvis Presley X - White Christmas 15:24
Devin Dawson All on Me 15:20