Drunk Driver Makes Guilty Plea For Causing His Second Deadly Crash

Rocky McMurray caused life-claiming drunk driving crashes in 2005 and 2017.

Rocky McMurray. Photo by Dearborn County Sheriff's Department.

(Dearborn County, Ind.) - A guilty plea has been reached by an Aurora man who caused a fatal drunk driving crash, 12 years after he killed somebody in a separate drunk driving accident.

Rocky McMurray, 49, was drunk when he crashed into a vehicle on Sparta Pike near Moores Hill in January 2017. Killed in that head-on crash was the driver of the other vehicle, Moores Hill resident Steven Ahaus.

Indiana State Police troopers said McMurray’s blood-alcohol content was more than twice the legal driving limit.

On Wednesday, McMurray entered a guilty plea to Causing Death When Operating Motor Vehicle with .15 or More (level 4 felony), according to a court filing. He is also pleading to a habitual substance offender enhancement.

The case had been scheduled to go to trial next week.

A level 4 felony is punishable by two to 12 years in prison, with an advisory sentence of six years. The habitual offender enhancement could add as many as 20 more years to McMurray’s sentence, which will be decided by Judge Sally McLaughlin on July 26.

During his initial appearance in court in 2017, Dearborn County prosecutors said McMurray was also responsible for another deadly drunk driving crash in Kentucky back in 2005.


Habitual Offender Enhancement Could Add 20 Years To Drunk Driver's Sentence

$1M Bond For Accused Drunk Driver; Deputy Prosecutor Says Not First Fatal Crash


More from Local News


Residents Asked to Take Survey Regarding Owner-Occupied Rehab Program

The City of Lawrenceburg is applying for grant funding through OCRA.

New School Attendance Program Aims to Reduce Absenteeism in Dearborn, Ohio Counties

The program was announced by Judge Aaron Negangard on Tuesday afternoon.

Aberdeen Pate Water Issues Water Boil Advisory

The advisory is for a select group of Ohio County residents.

SEI Trio Named to Preseason All-State Teams

Brady Ballart, Noah Knigga and Dylan Offill are ready to give offenses headaches again in 2024.

Riehle Wins Again at Knight Flight 5K

Ben Riehle and Lanie Nicholson are the overall leaders through three races.

Kayla Roell Makes History with Win at Lawrenceburg Speedway

Roell won the sprint car race on Saturday night.

On Air

Chelsie playing
Kenny Chesney and Uncle Kracker - When The Sun Goes Down

Ashley McBryde Martha Devine 8:20
George Strait One Night At A Time 8:12
Scotty McCreery Cab In A Solo 8:08
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 8:04