Two Batesville Schools Administrators Honored

Wednesday, May 29, 2024 at 1:35 PM

By Batesville Community School Corporation, news release

The school district has two finalists in the Principal of the Year program.

Dana Cassidy and Justin Tucker. Photos provided.

(Batesville, Ind.) - Two Batesville Community School Corporation administrators have been named state finalists in the Indiana Association of School Principals’ (IASP) annual Principal of the Year program. Batesville Intermediate School (BIS) principal Dana Cassidy has been named the District 10 Elementary School Principal of the Year. Cassidy just completed her sixth year as the principal at BIS. Batesville Middle School (BMS) assistant principal Justin Tucker has been named the district’s 2024 Assistant School Principal of the Year. He has served in this role since 2019.

In Cassidy’s role at BIS, she manages the daily activities and operations of the school, including budget, evaluations, curriculum, professional development, student needs, parental concerns, and educational-related policies. She serves the Batesville community at-large on the boards of the Batesville Memorial Public Library and Batesville Main Street and through membership in the Batesville Kiwanis.

“Serving as the principal of BIS brings me such joy,” Cassidy explained. “Providing a culture of educational excellence in a caring environment for these third through fifth graders is so important. They come to us as early learners and leave as rising middle schoolers. Guiding that transition is one I take seriously. Because of that, my community involvement is part of how I show our students what being a contributing member of society is all about.”

As the BMS assistant principal, Tucker oversees school discipline, attendance, safety, special education, and day-to-day operations. He also serves as a co-chair of the bi-monthly meetings of the Corporation Safety Team, involving all assistant principals, school resource officers, and the superintendent. Recently, he created a new parent/student policy handbook, working collaboratively with all stakeholders.

“As a former student of Batesville Community School Corporation, I deeply care about what it means to be a Bulldog and about promoting a positive and student-first culture at Batesville Middle School,” said Tucker. “I am honored to have been selected to represent our region.”

The Indiana Association of School Principals annually recognizes outstanding school leaders in each of the 12 Indiana districts who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students. These principals are nominated by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession. District 10 comprises Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Jennings, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, and Union counties in Southeastern Indiana.

"I am incredibly proud of and thankful for the outstanding leadership demonstrated by these two BCSC leaders,” said school superintendent Paul Ketcham “This recognition is a testament to their unwavering dedication, innovative spirit, and commitment to excellence in education in Batesville.”

Cassidy and Tucker will be honored in November at the annual Principals of the Year Recognition Celebration in Indianapolis, where one statewide award winner in each category from among all districts will be announced.

More from Local News


New Haven Road Closure Announced

A sanitary sewer installation project is scheduled to last over three months.

Franklin County Commissioners Issue Burn Ban

The ban is due to a county-wide draught and high temperatures.

NWS: Never Leave Children, Pets Unattended in Vehicles

The National Weather Service in Wilmington is urging individuals to “look before you lock”.

East Central to Host 20+ Teams at Trojan Shootout

It has been a great summer for EC's girls teams: Varsity team going (7-3), JV (7-2), incoming 8th graders (5-1 in a JV league).

Goldsberry Hired as South Ripley Girls Varsity Basketball Head Coach

The Lady Raiders have won seven championships in the past five years.

First of Six SIRC Races Takes in Rushville

The Southeastern Indiana Racing Circuit returns June 29.

On Air

Chelsie playing
Luke Combs - Beautiful Crazy

Vince Gill What The Cowgirls Do 6:03
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 6:01
Thomas Rhett Star of the Show 5:58
Waylon Jennings Good Hearted Woman 5:55