LMU Announces Rate Decrease

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 at 4:48 PM

By City of Lawrenceburg, news release

A new law recently repealed the Indiana Utility Receipts Tax.

(Lawrenceburg, Ind.) - On March 16, 2022, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb signed House Enrolled Act No. 1002-2022 into law, which repeals the Indiana Utility Receipts Tax (“IURT”), currently codified in Ind. Code 6-2.3, with an effective date of July 1, 2022. This will result in an approximate 1.4% rate reduction for all affected rate classes. With regard to Lawrenceburg Municipal Utilities, the resulting total decrease in average residential monthly billing from elimination of the IURT is $2.13 for electric and $0.30 for water.

Mayor Mollaun shared at the Utility Service Board Meeting on July 5th, 2022 that the August LMU Utility Bill would reflect the rate decrease as of July 1, 2022 retroactively for electric and water.  Mayor Mollaun along with Lawrenceburg City Council members and LMU Director Billy Kinnett were happy to ensure utility bill savings were passed thru to LMU customers. 

Please direct any questions regarding Utility Receipts Tax reductions to our utility office at 812-532-3500.

More from Local News


Margaritaville Coming to Northern Kentucky

The hotel resort is being built at Newport on the Levee.

South Dearborn HS 'Brewing' Employability Skills at Student Run Coffee Shop

Brewed Awakening is part of the JAG program at SDHS.

Local Sports Report - September 19, 2023

Report missing stats and scores to news@eaglecountryonline.com.

Local Sports Report - September 18, 2023

Report missing high school sports scores and stats to news@eaglecountryonline.com.

Batesville Wins 4th Straight Sectional Title; EC, Franklin Co., Switz. Co. Advance to Regional

There was some good golf being played in Greensburg and Madison on Saturday.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Collin Raye - That's My Story

Jordan Davis Next Thing You Know 4:51
Rodney Atkins It's America 4:47
Blake Shelton Honey Bee 4:44
Toby Keith Made In America - Eagle ONLY No Intro 4:40