Area High School Students Earn Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarships

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education awarded scholarships to 200 of 439 applicants.

Shutterstock photo.

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Seven area high school students have been awarded with Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarships.

Recipients are selected through a competitive process based on academic achievement and other factors. Each award winner will receive $7,500 annually for committing to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating college.

Local recipients include:

  • Emma Crouse, East Central High School
  • Rachel Rohe, South Dearborn High School
  • Caitlin Teaney, South Dearborn High School
  • Sara Weaver, Franklin County High School
  • Dillian Hughes, Jac-Cen-Del High School
  • Brent Ricke, Jac-Cen-Del High School
  • Aliya Young, Switzerland County High School

“Hard work, passion and academic excellence are just a few characteristics of these future teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We are pleased to award them with a scholarship as they pursue their teaching credentials that will ultimately benefit their students and the state.”

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

See a full list of Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship winners here.

More from Local News


Ripley Co. Community Foundation Unveils New Mural in Versailles

The mural, titled "Stargazers," was created by artist Judy Eaton.

The Force is With Students at Jedi Knight Academy

Students from Southeast Indiana recently gathered at Oldenburg Academy for the three-day camp.

Kayla Roell Makes History with Win at Lawrenceburg Speedway

Roell won the sprint car race on Saturday night.

Harrison Stars Earn All-American Status at USA Wrestling National Championships

Raegan Briggs and Chloe Dearwester wrapped up their high school careers with great performances in Fargo.

Milan Grad Ben Riehle Wins Trojan Trot 5K

The next SIRC race happens this Saturday in Aurora.

On Air

Luke Combs Where The Wild Things Are 11:05
Rodney Atkins These Are My People - Eagle ONLY - NO INTRO IMAGING 11:02
Fox News Fox News National Newscast 11:01
Dierks Bentley Living 10:57