EIAC Baseball Season Ends In Four-Way Tie; Batesville's Oesterling Is MVP

If only the four teams that tied for first could have played a tournament to break the tie.

Lane Oesterling is the 2019 EIAC Baseball MVP. Photo by @BatesvilleBB.

(Batesville, Ind.) – The Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference was so good at baseball this season that four teams shared first place.

Batesville, East Central, Franklin County and South Dearborn finished in a four-way tie for the conference championship with identical 9-5 records in EIAC play.

Each team also put five players on the All-Conference Team, including Batesville star and EIAC MVP Lane Oesterling.

Oesterling, an IU Southeast commit, went 7-0 this season with a 0.62 ERA and 60 strikeouts in 45 innings pitched.

Justin Tucker (Batesville), Bob Reynolds (East Central), Derek Stang (Franklin County) and Jay Malott (South Dearborn) shared 2019 EIAC Coach of the Year honors.

The complete list of 2019 All-EIAC Baseball players is below:


Batesville 9-5

Lane Oesterling

Trey Heidlage

Calvin Sherwood

Sam Voegele

Quinn Werner


East Central 9-5

Jack Hutchins

Jared Riehle

Zach Monhollen

Logan Huismann

Simon Williams


Franklin County 9-5

Alex Bischoff

Tommy Ratz

Augustus Runyon

Dalton Durbin

Joe Fields


South Dearborn 9-5

Ethan Getz

Jace Leonard

Tobie Teke

Grant McLane

Reese Willoughby


Lawrenceburg 7-7

Austin Weimer

Peyton Hartman


Connersville 6-8

Colton Massey

Brett Gray


Greensburg 6-8

Cade Reynolds

Cam Adams


Rushville 1-13

Tyler Wilson

More from Local Sports


Free Summer Meals Available to Students Across Indiana

Several Summer Food Service sites are located in southeastern Indiana.

Milan Gym Lobby Dedication Set for June 17

Players from the 1954 championship team will be there. The event is open to the public.

Local Sports Report - June 8, 2023

Area golfers competed at the IHSAA Regional on Thursday.

Rising Sun Baseball Set for Trip to Jasper for Semi-State

Community members are invited to send off the Shiners on Friday afternoon.

Batesville's Schebler to Play in North South All-Star Game

Schebler is the 9th player in Batesville history to be selected to play in the All-Star Game.

On Air

Your Hometown Radio Station playing
Tracy Byrd - I'm From The Country

Reba McEntire and Kelly Clarkson Because of You 21:18
Dierks Bentley Black 21:14
Brantley Gilbert Heaven by Then f/ Blake Shelton & Vince Gill 21:11
Lonestar No News 21:08