Maxwell, Lunsford, Heidlage, Bedel Are 2018 EIAC Football MVP's

East Central had the most all-conference selection with 13.

(St. Leon, Ind.) – East Central, South Dearborn and Batesville all had players represented as MVP’s of the 2018 high school football season.

The Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference released its 2018 All-Conference Teams on Monday

In 4A, conference champions East Central (11-2, 3-0 in EIAC) led the way with 13 all-conference selections, including EIAC Class 4A Offensive MVP Alex Maxwell. The senior quarterback threw for 1,164 yards and 9 touchdowns and added another 1,308 yards and 29 TDs on the ground.

Maxwell was joined on the all-conference team by Cole Rosfeld, Eric Rosemeyer and Caden Browndyke, all of which received IFCA All-State honors on Monday, as well.

South Dearborn had nine all-conference selections. Among them was EIAC Class 4A Defensive MVP Owen Lunsford. The Knights defensive back helped lead South Dearborn to an 8-3 record with a team-leading 105 tackles and six interceptions.

In Class 3A, conference champions Batesville had nine all-conference selections, including Offensive MVP Trey Heidlage and Defensive MVP Adam Bedel.

Heidlage starred at quarterback for the Bulldogs, leading his team to a conference championship behind a conference-best 2,298 passing yards, 1,472 rushing yards and 49 total touchdowns.

Middle linebacker Adam Bedel earned defensive MVP honors with 140 total tackles, 21. 5 tackles for loss and three forced fumbles.

The 2018 EIAC Coaches of the Year went to East Central’s Don Stonefield and Batesville’s Evan Ulery.

The complete EIAC All-Conference Teams are listed below.



Division 4A

East Central (3-0) – Alex Maxwell (Off MVP), Trevor Becker, Cole Rosfeld, Michael Medlock, Luke Collinsworth, Gaar Ertel, Gage Ertel, Kole Viel, Eric Rosemeyer, Brett Fox, Caden Browndyke, Chase Ludwig, Devon Donaworth

South Dearborn (2-1) – Owen Lunsford (Def. MVP), Ethan Getz, Tristan Rinehart, Zach Dick, Austin Terrill, David Blair, Trey Thies, Axel Bell, Kyle Vanguelpen

Franklin County (1-2) – Luke Moster, Augustus Runyon, Clayton Spurlock

Connersville (0-3) – Jacen Beckman



Division 3A

Batesville (3-0) – Adam Bedel (Def. MVP), Trey Heidlage (Off. MVP), Austin Siefert, Charlie Dice, Sam Bowman, Alex Love, Brayden Linkel, Tyler Myers, Nate Slavin

Lawrenceburg (1-2) – Jalen Parks, Dalton Dixon, Andrew Rennekamp, Marshall Kinnard, Gavin Yoon, Garrett Yoon

Greensburg (1-2) – Joey Woods, Aaron Black, Kal’el Dickson, Aron Moeller, Clint Lorenz

Rushville (1-2) – Cameron Craig, Grant Hill, Nick Komlanc, Duncan Draper, Hunter Applegate, Mason Springman

More from Local Sports


  • Dillsboro Public Library Photo Contest

    The Dillsboro Public Library has been selected to host a traveling Smithsonian exhibit, "Crossroads: Change in Rural America," which highlights the changing landscape in rural America. Since 1900, the percentage of Americans living in rural areas dropped from 60 percent to 17 percent, yet the vast majority of America’s physical landscape remains rural.

    at Dillsboro Public Library
  • Memorial Day Services

    American Legion Northcutt-Laaker Post 292, Dillsboro will perform Memorial Day Services on Sunday, May 26 at 1:00 p.m. at Oakdale Cemetery in Dillsboro. For more information, please contact the Legion Post at (812) 432-9200.

    at Oakdale Cemetery
  • Memorial Day Services

    American Legion Northcutt-Laaker Post 292, Dillsboro will perform Memorial Day Services on Sunday, May 26 at 3:00 p.m. at St. John Cemetery in Farmers Retreat. For more information, please contact the Legion Post at (812) 432-9200.

    at St. John Lutheran Church

I-74 Closed Due To Accident Near Sunman

The accident was reported around 1:10 p.m.

'Bash' Funds Help Safe Passage Help Others

The Bash had a carnival theme, complete with a balloonist and stilt walker. Sponsored by Anytime Fitness, all proceeds go to Safe Passage, Inc.

AUDIO: Congressman Pence Seeks Restitution For 1983 Beirut Bombing Victims, Families

Southeastern Indiana Congressman Greg Pence was a Marine in Beirut, Lebanon in 1983, leaving just days before a terrorist bomb killed hundreds of U.S. military members.

Batesville Hires New Varsity Girls Basketball Coach

David Rarick will also serve as an English teach at BHS.

Rising Sun Wins ORVC Softball Title; Places Five On All-Conf. Team

The Lady Shiners will play Hauser for a sectional championship Thursday night.

Rising Sun, Milan Stars Highlight All-ORVC Baseball Team

Milan, Rising Sun and Southwestern finished as tri-champions in the ORVC.

On Air

Travis Thayer playing
Dan + Shay - Speechless

George Strait Love Without End, Amen 17:51
Jordan Davis Take It From Me 17:44
Conway Twitty Linda On My Mind 17:41
Reba Mcentire Because Of You 17:38