(Undated) - A statewide crackdown on texting-while-driving begins Friday in Ohio.
The new law making texting while driving illegal passed the state legislature earlier this year in an effort to make the roads safer for drivers of all ages.
Adult drivers on Ohio roads are banned from texting while driving. However, the law goes further for teen drivers by forbidding the use of any electronic device for any reason, including making a phone call on a cell phone or programming a GPS.
According to the law, adult drivers can only be ticketed for texting while driving as a secondary offense, meaning they must first be pulled over for a primary offense such as speeding or driving recklessly. Drivers under age 18 can be stopped for using any device as a primary offense at any time.
Police will be handing out warnings for the next six months. Following that period, the law allows for possible fines of up to $150.
Minors found in violation face a fine up $150 for a first offense, in addition to having their license suspended for two month. Subsequent offenses could bring a $300 penalty with a year suspension.
Ohio is the 39th state to ban texting while driving for all drivers.